My Indian Fling.

The only time I would see my colleagues not eating a sandwich or salad is when they are having Indian curry. The strong aroma of curry being heated in the microwave lingers from the coffee room onto the hallways. Indian cuisine is not all curry’s, though. There is a myriad of dishes to choose from depending on which region of this South Asian country one is interested in.

To be honest, Indian cuisine is not my cup of tea. I probably eat Indian food twice or thrice a year.  Even if my taste buds do not savour spicy food very well and I am sadly lactose-intolerant, I still go and have my Indian-fix once in a blue moon.  For a food enthusiast, I simply could not pass up on the mixture of hot and colourful spices bathed in coconut milk.  It cannot be denied that Indian food is definitely rich and very succulent. Although my knowledge and experience of Indian food are pretty much limited to korma and masala, I would still like to try and compare two Indian restaurants that I have been to in the last year.

First is Rajpoot. With loads of curry awards under its belt, Rajpoot is almost a household name to most Bathonians. My visit to Rajpoot is very recent and I came to the place with friends and family.  The experience is almost as close to being in India as one could get. The narrow and unassuming entrance to the restaurant could almost fool you. But as one descends the flights of stairs going into the basement where the restaurant is, one senses that there is a surprise awaiting him/her at his/her destination.  From the restaurant’s waiting room all the way to the different dining areas, Rajpoot clearly does not disappoint with its interiors.  It is like an Indian haven secretly tucked underneath the busy streets of the city.  The vaulty stone structure inside the restaurants add to its charm. Bright purple ceiling and walls lit up with Indian lanterns. The dining booths splashed with brilliant hues are a feast for the eyes.  Not a nook nor cranny is neglected.  We booked a table for eight people for dinner. We were greeted nicely upon arrival but had to wait after being told that our table was still being set up for us.  As i got to my seat, I noticed the metal plate warmers set on the table.  The menu offered a lot of choices but I still ended up ordering lamb masala for myself and lamb korma for my husband.  A couple of times we had to wait before somebody was available to attend to us. Food service wheeled in trolleys took about 20-25 minutes for all of our orders, which is not so bad considering we were eight and it was a Saturday night. My masala had just the right amount of heat. The meat had nice texture and the sauce was really tasty. My pal’s English boyfriend who sampled the korma commented it was a bit odd. My husband told me that it tasted a little sweet. The husband did enjoy some poppadom dipped in mango chutney, though and I was quite happy with my cheese nan.  The food presentation was basic. Mains were served in white dining ware with not much food artistry.  One would expect that the food would be as intricately plated as the place was decorated to the nines.  The food portions are just adequate for an average person’s appetite.  The prices are reasonable except for the lemon rice which is a bit steep for its portion.  But then again I would just like to assume that there might be some precious spices thrown into making that side dish. A main dish would cost around £8-£12. The crowd that night were more mature and there were subdued conversations everywhere.  I can barely recall if there was music being played in the background as I could hear pots and pans banging and staff banter from the kitchen. After an hour of touristy chitchat, nobody felt like ordering desserts and we all called it a night. To my dismay, I completely forgot to take photos during our stay in Rajpoot. U_U

05.OLD-INDIA
The dining halls of Rajpoot. Image from http://www.rajpoot.com
Food-1
A sample dish from Rajpoot. Image from http://www.rajpoot.com

Second is The Mint Room.  My Mint Room experience dates way, way back, so I shall try my best to relive every detail.  My friends and I booked a table for four for dinner. I cannot exactly remember what day of the week we went then but the place was really jam packed. The facade of the restaurant is very sleek and box-type, but still maintaining the signature Bath stone that the city is known for. The waiting room was filled with people. (Tip: It is always a good idea to book tables in advance).  As we were ushered to our table, it felt like a familiar scene from Sex and the City.  I imagined me and my friends were Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte and Miranda walking into a glitzy, frilly and classy restaurant.  The Mint Room’s decor is a modern take in contrast to that of Rajpoot’s. Dark wood against creams, ecrus and golds are seen throughout the space.  There are also Indian lanterns and in the middle of the restaurant is a see-through divider which reminds me of a 1920’s flapper dress.  The dining booths have curved, leather sofas with either views of the city from one end and walls brimming with millions of gold specks on the other.  The menu as expected provided a long list of dishes to choose from.  The Mint Room tweaks traditional Indian dishes and incorporates a more contemporary approach giving the food experience a whole new level. The funny thing is as I searched for old photos from my mobile phone, I realised I have ordered exactly the same thing in The Mint Room ages ago as I have recently done in Rajpoot.  I have a very vivid memory of the lamb masala I had in The Mint Room.  It was perfection.  The lamb portion is more than enough for my appetite.  It was nicely plated, as fancy as the place dictates.  The sauce was rich and the meat was fork-tender.  I cannot fault the dish that I have ordered even if I am far from being a Indian food connoiseur.  I think the cheese nan I had in the Mint Room was okay, but it is safe to say that I might have enjoyed the cheese nan better at Rajpoot.  Prices at The Mint Room are a tad more expensive than Rajpoot. One is looking to pay around £10-£15 for a main dish. The crowd then was a mixture of young professional adults  in their 20’s-30’s. One of my pals even spotted her crush, a doctor, in the waiting room. Again I cannot recall if there was music in the background as all the tables were resounding with laughter and chatter. It was a very fun night. It even ended on a sweet note when we were served some chocolatey dessert on the house. Who doesn’t like free desserts right?

IMG_4401
My very, bright photo of the Lamb Masala taken with my old, crappy phone. 😀
image-063
The left side of the dining area of The Mint Room. Image from http://www.themintroom.co.uk

From my overall experience and taking into account everything (food, service, price, ambience, etc.),  I would say The Mint Room takes my vote.  🙂

Until my next blue moon!

Singkititay ♥

Leave a comment